Here's a christmas present for you!

edited December 2002 in Sinclair Basic
SE Basic is no longer being developed.
Post edited by chev on

Comments

• edited December 2002
    This is the only present I've got so far, but it's a good one!

Thanks!!
  • edited December 2002
    On 2002-12-25 12:28, aowen wrote:
    note that in order to generate the STOP token from an INPUT a$ command, you just have to press cursor down.

Why not just type "STOP" (all four letters) in an INPUT a, and step out of the quotes and type "STOP" (again, one letter at a time) in an INPUT a$? That's how BASIC used to do it, IIRC. If your tokeniser takes any edit line, it should tokenise the stop properly?

D.
  • edited December 2002
    There was a similar thread on CSS about this way back (about 2 years ago, IIRC) when I started coding SPIN - it was going to be a simple BASIC interpreter back then.

The main sticking point was RND, PI etc - if we disallow those as vars, you can't really justify allowing STOP. This tokenisation lark can really get annoying, and you start to run into the problems that the 128k BASIC editor had to get around.

Mind you, I find your implementation to be fascinating - SPINlite uses the 48.rom an performs all (de)tokenisation and keyboard support outside the emulation, whereas yours is a tailored ROM. Rather cool - but I suspect that you and I are going after rather different goals...

D.
  • edited December 2002
    On 2002-12-26 01:44, Dunny wrote:
    The main sticking point was RND, PI etc - if we disallow those as vars, you can't really justify allowing STOP.

Now I'm not into interpreters coding, but:

RND, or PI are EXPRESSIONS, and as such using them as "left hand values" might cause ambiguity. On the other hand, STOP is a COMMAND, and there is therefore no ambiguity in allowing it to be a "left hand value" (first argument of an assignment: a variable).

While this is one way to reason, another is: