Who want to remake Double Dragon?

191011121315»

Comments

• edited June 2007
    Recently, I even considered learning to code (I'm a programmer by trade, see, graphic designer by freelance) but I just prefer doing graphics....and with a 10 month old son, there's only so much time I could dedicate to it and I'd just rather be doing the graphics, man.
  • edited June 2007
    Swainy, all the links you posted to the sprites give a 404 error :(
  • edited June 2007
    utopian wrote: »
    Swainy, all the links you posted to the sprites give a 404 error :(

Very strange, I'll upload them again when I get home from work tonight.
  • edited June 2007
    I know very little about programming for the spectrum (or any computer for that matter), but might another approach be to modify an existing game? The general consesus appears to be that DD is crap but Target Renegade is rather good. I'm not suggesting that you take TR and just swap the graphics for DD themed ones, but surely you could re-use large sections of the code and still come up with a result that looked and felt substantially difference. As I said, I'm a layman, and it may be that in reality this approach would be more trouble than starting from scratch.

This will not work. At first TR is split screen and DD is supossed to scroll (Beside the fact that is probably impossible to scroll a huge screen area with so many details as DD gfx has)

What is more important, the only thing you really can extract from TR is gfx engine. But game logic should be programmed from scratch.
    I would say there is maybe 30+ persons on WOS which are able to write decent gfx routines but only few who have time to play with game logic. It is the most ackward part of programming: you are supposed to do it continually to avoid lose track. Doing it in time when your girlfriend has headache is not very efficient :)