Tutorial - learn machine code in 30mins

edited October 2012 in Development
Message from the moderators - bigjon has requested that readers' attention be drawn to a better version of this tutorial, one which is easier to read: it can be found at

http://chuntey.wordpress.com/2010/01/12/tutorial-zx-spectrum-machine-code-game-30-minutes/

Original message of this post follows:

I've written a short tutorial to get you started writing machine code.
Anyone fancy giving it a go and reporting back on your progress here?
ZX SPECTRUM MACHINE CODE GAME 30 MINUTE TUTORIAL
By bigjon (Jon Kingsman)
Roadrace game by bigjon, incorporating suggestions from Dr Beep, skoolkid and Matt B

Hi folks, I'm a machine code novice who coded a very small roadrace game to help me learn.
I reckon you can learn the basics of machine code in half an hour by coding this game step by step.
This tutorial assumes you have a working knowledge of ZX Spectrum basic, and the ZX Spin emulator.
Make yourself a large cup of tea - by the time you've drunk it, you be able to program in machine code!

CHAPTER 1 - Create a machine code function that returns the score to BASIC
Machine code programs are a series of bytes in the Spectrum's memory.
In this chapter we will 
- use the Spin assembler to write a few bytes into the memory generating a score for our game.
- write a BASIC program to run the machine code and print the score we have obtained from it.
Open ZX Spin. Select Tools -> Z80 Assembler.
To run our roadrace game, we need to execute the following steps
MAIN ;label for main section of program as opposed to graphics data etc
org 33000
;org 33000 = arrange to put our machine code at free, fast-running (over 32768) and memorable address in RAM
;initialise score
;initialise road, car
PRINCIPALLOOP ;label for the loop in the game that will execute over and over
;read keyboard
;set new carposition
;crash? if so, go to GAMEOVER.
;print car
;scroll road
;random road left or right
;jump back to PRINCIPALLOOP